Scientific Council

Hong-Zeng (Bert) Yu


FM Global Research, USA

Louise Jackman


Magnus Arvidson

SP Fire Research, Sweden

Are W. Brandt

SP Fire Research, Norway

Arnaud Breton

CNPP, France

Bjarne Husted

Lund University, Sweden

Max Lakkonen

IFAB, Germany




The IWMA Scientific Council is comprised of a group of fire protection scientists and engineers from testing laboratories, water mist system providers, authorities having jurisdiction, research institutes and universities around the world. The Council works with the Association General Manager on the evaluation of submissions to the annual Water Mist Conference and Young Talent Award, as well as the technical content update for the Association webpage. The Council also provides advisory input to the Association Board of Directors on special research projects, and other technical and scientific matters regarding water mist fire protection.