

ANNOUNCEMENT

The "Ragnar Wighus Award 2024"

Since 2016, the International Water Mist Association (IWMA) bestows an award to promote young talents. The title of this award in 2024 will be:

"Ragnar Wighus Award / Master"

The prize is awarded once a year. The prize itself includes:

- an invitation to the annual international water mist conference
- a slot to present the thesis
- travel and accommodation expenses*
- a prize money of 1,000.00 €
- a one-year free IWMA membership (starting on the day of the presentation of the award)

<u>Please note</u>: One year the best master thesis will be honored, the following year the person having handed in the best Ph.D. thesis will be rewarded.

Deadline to hand in your submission for the 2023 prize will be: **28th March 2024** In 2024, the best Master thesis will be rewarded!

For further details on the rules and regulations please turn to the dept. of fire safety at your university or write to:

Bettina McDowell (International Water Mist Association)

Poststrasse 33 (im HBC), 20354 Hamburg, Germany

Tel.: +49 (0) 174 3013878

e-Mail: mcdowell@iwma.net

*Travel costs to be approved by the IWMA board of directors or travel will be arranged by IWMA!



The Rules:

- All students whose master / Ph.D. thesis contains research on the water mist technology may take part in the competition.
- The master / Ph.D. thesis handed in should carry the date of the year of the conference or the year before that. In case of the Ph.D. theses also submissions carrying the date of the year before that may be handed in. Submissions must be in English!
- One submission per university is allowed. A responsible professor or a body of expert teachers may evaluate the master / Ph.D. theses first and then decide which master / Ph.D. thesis shall be handed in.
- In a first round, an abstract or a brief summary of the master / Ph.D. thesis may be handed in. The IWMA Scientific Council will then establish a list of the three most promising abstracts. The students on that list will be asked to hand in the complete master / Ph.D. thesis. (The complete thesis may be handed in at the same time as the abstract or summary)
- The abstract or summary shall be handed in no later than 28th March of the year in question or before the date specified.
- Between 1st April and 15th April 2024, the IWMA Scientific Council will evaluate the abstracts or summaries.
- On 15th April 2024, the three students with the most promising abstracts or summaries will be asked to hand in their complete master / Ph.D. theses. (if they have not already done so)
- On 27th May 2024, the winner will be notified and on 31st May 2024 be announced officially (on the IWMA webpage, via a press release, possibly in press articles)
- The sole body which will decide if the prize will be awarded and if so which the winning master / Ph.D. thesis is, shall be the IWMA Scientific Council only. There will be no legal recourse to obtain this award.

The members of the IWMA Scientific Council are:

- Max Lakkonen / IFAB, Germany (chair of the IWMA Scientific Council)
- Dr. Louise Jackman / BRE, UK
- Dr. Kemal Sarp Arsava, RISE Norway
- Magnus Arvidson / RISE Sweden
- Arnaud Breton / CNPP, France
- Dr. Siaka Dembele / Kingston University, UK
- Bogdan Raciega / Baltic Fire Laboratory, Poland