

## **PRESS INFORMATION**

The "IWMA Young Talent Award" is now the "Ragnar Wighus Award"

**Hamburg, 31**<sup>st</sup> **October 2023.** The members of the International Water Mist Association (IWMA) have decided to rename the "IWMA Young Talent Award". The new name is "Ragnar Wighus Award".

The award will – as before – go to the author of the best master or Ph.D. thesis dealing with water mist. Ragnar Wighus, who passed away in 2021, was IWMA president from 2002 to 2018 when he handed over the baton to Are Wendelborg Brandt (Norwegian University of Science and Technology).

In 2024, the award will go to the author of the best Ph.D. thesis. The winner of the prize will be invited to the 23<sup>rd</sup> International Water Mist Conference and get a speaker slot to introduce his / her thesis. The event will take place in Antwerp, Belgium, on 18<sup>th</sup> and 19<sup>th</sup> September 2024. The award also entails a prizemoney of 1,000.00 Euro and a one-year free IWMA membership.

All submissions will be evaluated by the IWMA Scientific Council chaired by Max Lakkonen (IFAB). The deadline to hand in applications is 29<sup>th</sup> March 2024. The details of how to apply have been published on the IWMA webpage.

The award was launched in 2016. So far, five young scientists have won the prize. The list of winners can be viewed on the IWMA webpage.

## **Press contact:**

Bettina McDowell

tel.: +49 (0) 174 301 3878 fax: +49 (0) 40 35085-80 e-mail: mcdowell@iwma.net